Skip to main navigation Skip to main content Skip to page footer
Welcome to the Refugee and Migration Studies Hub,
the new research institution of the National and Kapodistrian University of Athens

We bring together our knowledge, experience and expertise in addressing refugee and migratory flows in their infinite variety

In recent times, Greece has found itself at the forefront of massive refugee and migratory flows. The response has been overwhelming and has come from all walks of life, including the academic community. The National & Kapodistrian University of Athens has been active in research and teaching on subjects relating to refugee and migratory flows, contributing to the further development of the discipline worldwide and creating a Refugee and Migration Studies Hub, the most important one in the wider Mediterranean area.

The Refugee and Migration Studies Hub is an independent academic unit, established in 2021. It aims to address a gap in the research of refugee and migration flows. Experience on the field has shown that it is practically impossible to address the crucial challenges created by refugee and migratory flows without a more holistic understanding of the causes and effects of such movements, the international legal framework regulating them or indeed any lack thereof, the practical issues of addressing the health and welfare needs of humanity in the move and the communication tools available to shape the perception of such movements by the wider public and the body politic.

Within this framework, the Refugee and Migration Studies Hub was established in order to conduct and promote interdisciplinary research on the various forms of migration flows and to contribute to an integrative perception of this global contemporary phenomenon.

The Refugee and Migration Studies Hub is an initiative of the Law SchoolMedical School, the Department of Political Science and Public Administration, and the Department of Communication and Media Studies of the National and Kapodistrian University of Athens. The Coordinating Committee is comprised by Professor Maria Gavouneli, Professor Manos Pikoulis, Professor Emmanuella Doussis, and Professor George Pleios